Reykjanesbær Heritage Museum
Reykjanesbær Heritage Museum can trace its origins back to 1944, when the Keflavik Youth Association founded the Keflavik Heritage Museum. However, the formal establishment of the museum in its current form took place in 1978, at which point it was named the Suðurnes Heritage Museum. This was a joint effort between two municipalities, Keflavik and Njarðvík. In 2002, the name of the museum was changed to Reykjanesbær Heritage Museum, as this name better defines the museum’s operational area. The Heritage Museum of Reykjanesbær was accredited by the Icelandic Museum Council in 2014.
The museum's role is to foster interest and understanding of cultural heritage. It is a resource that enhances quality of life and creates value for the community by being a captivating destination for both local and international visitors, a dynamic learning platform for schools, and an active participant in research and educational activities. Focus is placed on cooperation with other institutions in Reykjanesbær.
The Reykjanesbær Heritage Museum has its main exhibitions at Duus Heritage Houses, Duusgata 2-8. Additionally, the museum oversees Stekkjarkot and the historic house Innri-Njarðvík. The museum's collection consists of artifacts, photographs, and personal documents. It reflects the history of the area, local industries, and culture. A significant part of the collection relates to fishing, the work of craftsmen, the operation of Keflavik Airport, and the U.S. military base at Miðnesheiði. The museum’s uniqueness and strength lie largely in its 20th-century collection. The Heritage Museum of Reykjanesbær also preserves a number of boat models made by Grímur Karlsson. The museum’s offices are located at Flugvallarbraut 710.









